Diary Of An Expat: Week 5

fullsizerender-39

img_3061

After almost 4 weeks of only having sporadic outings and a few social engagements, this week we actually found ourselves, wait for it, BUSY! We experienced a huge milestone this week when we enrolled Hazelle into school. As you might recall, for the past month or so I’ve been talking about a lack of activities for children to do, and have often wondered what all the other Indian children do all day and where they go? Well apparently from about 18months of age onwards they go to school. 18months! Crazy right? Every day, Monday-Friday most children go to school for 2 or 3 hours in the morning. As I understand it, it is like a pre-school, pre-kindergarten system.

Hazelle is absolutely craving social interaction, I am craving routine and I’m guessing my husband is craving a sense of stability and for us to be settled, so enrolling Hazelle in school is going to be a win all round. For the time being she is only going for 2 hours each day but will possibly move up to 3 hours soon. The school also has a day-care facility so we have enrolled Alexander to go a few times a week for the same hours as Hazelle. This is another big step as neither of my children have ever been in day-care, even back in Melbourne, but the social interaction and time away from me will be good for him too.

fullsizerender-36

After 5 weeks of playing in the antique cart at the front of the house, it doesn’t seem to cut it anymore hehe

So in between running around having interviews at schools, finalising enrolment details and paperwork, the rest of the week has been a good one too. I finally got my hair and nails done like I was talking about last week, I’ve been able to sit down and make some plans for the blog and hubby had a great week of work as well.

fullsizerender-42

The day I got my hair done. Apparently “chocolate brown” is not a universal shade… It’s a tad darker than I’d like but still miles better than the state of my hair before!

Highlight: The highlight of this week has definitely been seeing my husbands hard work start to pay off for him. As you may know we are here on project based work but in addition to that hubby is working on creating a hedge fund for himself too. I won’t go into the specifics of what that is (because I’d probably get it wrong anyway) but he works during the day for the project and at night he builds his hedge fund. This week was a really positive week for him on both accounts and I’m so proud of his ambition and drive to create an amazing life for his family. We are super lucky to have him.

New Words I learnt:

Shubh Raatri: Goodnight

That’s all for this week…oops.

Things I’m loving: Our diet here. Climate and convenience have a lot to do with the changes in our diet so it definitely hasn’t been a conscious decision as such but our diet is really clean and healthy and we are all feeling much better for it. As I’ve mentioned before, due to the extreme heat a lot of fresh produce either doesn’t last or is currently not available at all. We can still manage with a few staples like tomato, cucumber, spinach, vegetables from the pumpkin family but are green and taste nothing like pumpkin, apples, oranges and a fruit called amla. We don’t eat much meat and we pretty much eat zero processed food when we are home because my MIL is a food nazi (in a good way) and refuses to have processed food in the house.

I’ve really noticed a change in our food shopping too. In Melbourne if we were out of one thing I wouldn’t think twice before getting straight into the car to whip down to Coles to buy it, and then of course buy 20 other things along with it. Here because I can’t drive and my husband is working we are forced to use everything that we have on hand before we go and do another shop. We only drink alcohol occasionally on the weekends but I’m not going to lie, if we eat out we eat whatever we want and will often have a drink in the restaurant too. We do eat a lot of carbohydrates as I’ve mentioned but we can’t really avoid that until the weather gets a bit cooler and we have some more options.

Things I’m missing: Driving. I’ve always preferred to be a passenger than a driver but I’m definitely missing the freedom that driving provides, something that for most of my adult life I’d taken for granted. I can only drive automatic cars and we have a manual car here but to be honest even if I did learn to drive a manual, I don’t think I’d actually want to drive anyway. The roads are CRAZY and road rules seem to be more of a ‘suggestion’ than anything else.

What I’m looking forward to: Getting a bit of me time back. With Hazelle in school and Alexander in occasional day care from next Monday, I can’t wait to have a few hours to myself. I will most likely try and start back at the gym and do a few blog things and I’m sure the two hours will fly but two hours are definitely better than none! 

fullsizerender-33

I’m excited for her to go to school but when did my baby get SO BIG?!?!?! 

Your questions from last week:

  1. What is a Sari and do you wear one?
     Images via Pinterest
    • Wikipedia describes a Sari as: “A sari, saree, or shari is a female garment from the Indian subcontinent that consists of a drape varying from five to nine yards (4.5 metres to 8 metres) in length and two to four feet (60 cm to 1.20 m) in breadth that is typically wrapped around the waist, with one end draped over the shoulder, baring the midriff.”….. No I don’t wear one, although I think they are very beautiful. Here you will find that only older ladies or maids wear Sari’s every day and younger girls will only wear them for traditional special occasions or their wedding day.
  2. Do you think it’s been a good move for your family?
    • I think that any kind of change and experience is always a good thing, especially when you go through it as a family. The last 5 weeks definitely haven’t always been easy for us and the experience is different in someways to what we thought it would be, but living outside the world that you know, meeting new people and seeing a new way of life is, in my opinion, a valuable gift and one I’m happy my children get to experience. I love this quote:fullsizerender-44
  3. Can you wear ‘normal’ gym clothes when you workout?
    • Yes, you can. We go to a Fitness First club and it is just like any other Fitness First around the world. I wear either full length or ¾ length tight leggings and a tank top / singlet. At first I was worried that I’d have to wear a t-shirt but then I saw all the other women wearing sleeveless tops so I knew I would be fine. I wouldn’t wear short running shorts but aside from that, I’m comfortable wearing what I would wear to the gym anywhere else in the world.
  4. How much longer will you be in India for?
    • That is the million-dollar question at the moment ha-ha. At this stage at least until the end of the year / early next year I’d say!

And that’s week 5 in the bag. Keep leaving me your questions and don’t forget to follow along on Snapchat @caitlinmarwaha to see a bit more of our daily life although I will try to get better with Insta Stories too! Hope you all have a great week, pray for me on Monday, I’m hoping I won’t be that mum crying at the doorstep haha. I mean it’s only TWO HOURS!  Get it together woman ;). xx

 

3 thoughts on “Diary Of An Expat: Week 5

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s